Freeskier Andreas Hatveit & Snowboarders Jamie Anderson & Tyler Flanagan Win Slopestyle Finals at the Totino's Open at Breckenridge Ski Resort |

Freeskier Andreas Hatveit & Snowboarders Jamie Anderson & Tyler Flanagan Win Slopestyle Finals at the Totino’s Open at Breckenridge Ski Resort

Norwegian-native Andreas Hatveit took home his first Winter Dew Tour win at the freeski slopestyle final, and 16-year-old Tyler Flanagan of Mammoth Lakes, Calif., earned his first ever victory in a pro contest in the men’s snowboard slopestyle final. Jamie Anderson, 19, of South Lake Tahoe, Calif. won the women’s snowboard slopestyle final at the Totino’s Open at Breckenridge Ski Resort.

Hatveit, 23, earned a first-place score of 93.00 with a run that included a double cork 1080 and a switch right 1080. Tom Wallisch of Pittsburgh, Pa. locked in the second-place finish during his second run, landing a pretzel on the rail, a rodeo 900 and a misty 5 off the rail to earn a score of 92.38. Following in third was Sammy Carlson of Tigard, Ore., with a score of 91.13. Sammy’s solid run included a 270 onto the rail and a switch misty 900 poke.

“Getting here [to the Winter Dew Tour] and watching the level of riding, I was just aiming to get third,” said Hatveit. “But I finally got my run together, and it was definitely the best run I’ve ever had in my life so I couldn’t be happier.”

Anderson earned a 92.00 in today’s final, the highest score earned a women’s snowboard slopestyle contest in the history of the Winter Dew Tour. Anderson threw out a backside 180, a switch back 540 and a backside tailslide on the Nike 6.0 rainbow rail. Trailing behind in second place was Sarka Panc of the Czech Republic, who landed variations of backside 180s, giving her a score of 80.25. Rounding out the podium in third was Great Britain’s Jenny Jones with a score of 67.50.

“I was really nervous but I feel great to have won this first stop of the Winter Dew Tour season,” said Anderson. “I’m glad I pulled it together and landed what I needed to in the first run.”

The men’s snowboard slopestyle final ended with a trio of first-time podium finishers. Flanagan’s winning run earned him a 93.00 and included a switch cab 9, back- and frontside 1080s and a backside 270 over the rail. Sage Kotsenburg of Park City, Utah, an open qualifier who eked out a spot in the prelims before making it to the finals, ended up in the number two spot overall, throwing out a cab 1080 and a backside 1080 on the third jump for a score of 90.00. Breckenridge-local Eric Willett earned an 87.50 for a third-place finish including a huge double backside rodeo.

Overall four open qualifiers advanced to the men’s snowboard slopestyle final – Kotsenburg, Halldor Helgason, Heikki Sorsa and Stef Zeestraten.

“It feels amazing; it’s like a dream come true. I came out only wanting to get top ten, and I’m stoked that I came in first,” said Flanagan. “I’m chasing the Dew Cup. I’m trying to get that Dew Cup now!”

The four-day competition was the first of three stops of the Winter Dew Tour, featuring men’s and women’s snowboarding and freeskiing disciplines. Approximately 32,000 people experienced the Winter Dew Tour this weekend in Breckenridge, Colorado. The Tour will continue on to Snowbasin, a Sun Valley Resort, in Ogden Utah, and conclude at Mount Snow Resort in West Dover, Vermont.

The complete 2009-10 Winter Dew Tour schedule is as follows:

Event Date Location

Totino’s Open Dec. 17-20 Breckenridge Ski Resort – Breckenridge, Colo.

Wendy’s Invitational Jan. 14-17 Snowbasin Resort – Ogden, Utah

Toyota Championship Feb. 4-7 Mount Snow Resort – West Dover, Vt.

Winter Dew Tour’s Totino’s Open at Breckenridge Ski Resort

Saturday, December 19, 2009

Breckenridge, Colo.

Men’s Freeski Slopestyle Final

1. Andreas Hatveit, Norway, 93.00. 2. Tom Wallisch, Pittsburgh, Pa., 92.38. 3. Sammy Carlson, Tigard, Ore., 91.13. 4. Bobby Brown, Breckenridge, Colo., 89.50. 5. Elias Ambuhl, Switzerland, 89.00. 6. Jf Houle, Canada, 84.00. 7. Philip Casabon, Canada, 81.50. 8. Sean Jordan, Scranton, Pa., 79.50. 9. Alexis Godbout, Canada, 74.00. 10. Oscar Harlaut, Sweden, 66.75. 11. Tj Schiller, Canada, 16.50. 12. Charles Gagnier, Canada, 12.00.

Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle Final

1. Jamie Anderson, South Lake Tahoe, Calif., 92.00. 2. Sarka Panc, Czech Republic, 80.25. 3. Jenny Jones, Great Britain, 67.50. 4. Spencer O’Brien, Canada, 42.75. 5. Janna Meyen-Weatherby, Big Bear, Calif. 6. Shelly Gotlieb, New Zealand, 38.00.

Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Final

1. Tyler Flanagan, Mammoth Lakes, Calif., 93.00. 2. Sage Kotsenburg, Park City, Utah, 90.00. 3. Eric Willett, Breckenridge, Colo., 87.50. 4. Torstein Horgmo, Norway, 86.00. 5. Halldor Helgason, Iceland, 85.50. 6. Brandon Reis, Peterborough, N.H., 83.75. 7. Charles Guldemond, Reno Tahoe, Nev., 74.25. 8. Sam Hulbert, Peterborough, N.H., 62.50. 9. Mikkel Bang, Norway, 56.00. 10. Scotty Lago, Seabrook, N.H., 53.50. 11. Heikki Sorsa, Finland, 50.75. 12. Stef Zeestraten, New Zealand, 41.75.

Posted on: December 20, 2009
2018 | 4223 Glencoe Avenue, Suite A210, Marina Del Rey, CA 90292 | 310.305.7800 | email us