Chrabot, Haskins Win Miami International Triathlon |

Chrabot, Haskins Win Miami International Triathlon

Americans Matt Chrabot and Sarah Haskins kicked off the 2010 North American triathlon season with wins at the Miami International Triathlon.

Charbot’s win against a tough field made mostly of Americans came as a result of a steady effort across all three disciplines. While Charbot was not the fastest on the swim, bike or run, his combined effort gave the 26-year-old the win and a time of 1:46:29 on the fast course. To the surprise of no one, American Chris Lieto posted the fastest 40km bike split at 52:58. Lieto struggled to keep pace with the Olympic-distance stars on the run, posting a 10km run time of 34:24. The effort was good enough to earn Lieto a second place spot at 1:48:00. Third place went to last year’s winner, Matt Reed of the United States, at 1:48:14.

Haskins is quickly proving herself to be the top American female at Olympic-distance triathlon. Haskins emerged from the water only a few seconds behind super swimmers Sara McLarty (USA) and Hailey Peirsol (USA). Haskins worked hard on the bike, averaging 23.9 mph on the 40km course. Once off the bike, Haskins ran away from the field and was the only female to average sub six-minute pace on the 10km run, crossing the finish line at 1:58:16. Last year’s winner, American Jillian Peters, settled for second at 2:00:00. McLarty used a strong swim and bike to earn third at 2:02:13.

Miami International Triathlon Miami, Florida – March 14, 2010 1.5km swim, 40km bike, 10km run


1. Matt Chrabot (USA) 1:46:29

2. Chris Lieto (USA) 1:48:00

3. Matty Reed (USA) 1:48:14

4. Bevan Docherty (NZL) 1:48:34

5. Andrew Yoder (USA) 1:48:47


1. Sarah Haskins (USA) 1:58:16

2. Jillian Petersen (USA) 2:00:00

3. Sara McLarty (USA) 2:02:13

4. Hayley Peirsol (USA) 2:02:32

5. Mary Beth Ellis (USA) 2:04:38

Posted on: March 14, 2010