Book Review: Fortytude By Sarah Brokaw |

Book Review: Fortytude By Sarah Brokaw

Book: Fortytude
Author: Sarah Brokaw

Book Description:

In Fortytude, therapist Sarah Brokaw reveals the surprising, accessible principles that can help women sail through their midlife years—more happily with more accomplishments and with grace and satisfaction.

I was given this book to read and review by For those who do not know who Sarah Brokaw is, she is a licensed therapist and has a private practice in Beverly Hills, California. Her speciality is in relational dynamics. She is also the daughter of Tom Brokaw.

This is a book for women not only in their 40s but for women from 28 to 50. This is a book about growing up, or as the front cover says ‘making the next decades of the best years of your life’. When I was a kid, thinking about being 21 was old. Now I am 31, thinking about being 40 makes me think “my best years has yet to come!” To me life is a movie. There is a start, middle, climax and the sad end. But this book says it all. It says there is a life, take control of it and how to get the life the way you want it by following the core values Brokaw has provided in the book. She does this by dividing the book into five parts:

The five Core Values are:

Grace, Connectedness, Accomplishment, Adventure and Spirituality.

In each part, she describes various things that are on a persons mind: breast cancer, divorce, being good enough, empty nest, dating after 40, finding your own path and much more. I love the little stories within this book because it makes me think ” do I know someone like that? have I been in a situation like this? i.e. makes me remember this book and think about it during the day. I feel like I have been listening to a therapist as I read the book I am thinking “ahh, now I get it! I Know what the message is here!”

This book is not only for women but men too! And this book is a musthave! Sarah is a wonderful author and this book is something that I am honored to have read!

Out of a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being awesome and 1 being crap, is giving this book a 10 out of 10. This is an excellent read.

Book Details:

Hardcover: 288 pages
Publisher: Voice (March 1, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 9781401341190
ISBN-13: 978-1401341190
ASIN: 1401341195

Disclosure: was given this book by to read and give an honest review.

To read more or buy on amazon go to

Posted on: May 31, 2011