O.C. surfers shine at San Onofre tournament | stanton-company.com

O.C. surfers shine at San Onofre tournament

Mike Losness from San Clemente and Claire Bevilacqua from Perth, Australia, are the champions of the first event in the 2011 Bud Light Lime Surf Series.

Losness defeated Hawaii’s Kekoa Bacalso, Australia’s Mitch Coleborn and Hawaii’s Roy Powers on Saturday at San Onofre’s Church Beach. Bevilacqua prevailed over Kyla Langen from Carlsbad, Lisa Andersen of Newport Beach and Hawaii’s Megan Abubo in the women’s final.

Bud Light Lime Surf Series action continues Sunday. Drop by San Onofre State Beach from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. and you can catch Bud Light’s expression session and a reunion featuring four top surfers from the Bud Surf Tour of the 1980s and ’90s – Pat O’Connell, Jim Hogan, Chris Brown and Vince de la Peña. Take I-5 to the Basilone Road exit, turn toward the beach and enter the parking area just off the freeway on the right. Parking in the state park is $15 per car. The new two-event Bud Light Lime Surf Series forms bookends to the summer season, with the first round this weekend and the finale Sept. 3-5, Labor Day weekend, at Ventura. RESULTS Men 1. Mike Losness, San Clemente 2. Kekoa Bacalso, Hawaii 3. Mitch Coleborn, Australia 4. Roy Powers, Hawaii Women 1. Claire Bevilacqua, Australia 2. Kyla Langen, Carlsbad 3. Lisa Andersen, Newport Beach 4. Megan Abubo, Hawaii

To read more go to OCregister.com

Posted on: June 1, 2011