2011 Race to the Toyota Cup Champions Crowned in Dallas | stanton-company.com

2011 Race to the Toyota Cup Champions Crowned in Dallas

Sarah Haskins (USA) and Andy Potts (USA) win respected professional divisions;

Each takes home Series cash prize, plus a 2011 Toyota vehicle and the coveted Toyota Cup

CHANHASSEN, Minn.–(BUSINESS WIRE)– Championship honors in the 2011 Race to the Toyota Cup came down to the wire on Sunday, October 2 at the Toyota U.S. Open Triathlon in Rockwall (Dallas), Tex. Sarah Haskins (USA) secured the professional female division championship after taking second in the Series finale behind Lisa Norden (SWE). Andy Potts (USA) secured the professional male championship by delivering a strong fourth place finish in Dallas. The event, which began and ended along the shores of Lake Ray Hubbard, was the culmination of the seven-race triathlon series, produced by Life Time Fitness (NYSE:LTM), the Healthy Way of Life Company.

Haskins, a 2008 Olympian, overcame Alicia Kaye (USA) at this last race to secure the professional female division Toyota Cup with a total of 59.5 points. Haskins had a remarkable four wins during the season, including victories at the Nautica South Beach Triathlon, the CapTex Triathlon in Austin, the Life Time Minneapolis Triathlon and the Life Time Chicago Triathlon.

Potts, a 2004 Olympian, was a consistently strong competitor throughout the Series, winning both the CapTex Triathlon in Austin and the Philadelphia Insurance Triathlon. He placed second at both the Nautica South Beach Triathlon and the Life Time Minneapolis Triathlon. He took home the professional male division Toyota Cup with a total of 55 points, overcoming Cameron Dye (USA) on the last day of the Series.

Final standings for the professional female division included Kaye in second place and Becky Lavelle (USA), whose performance in Dallas served as the tiebreaker that ultimately elevated her to third place after a point standing tie with Rebeccah Wassner (USA). Within the professional male division, Dye and Greg Bennett (USA), secured second and third place standings, respectively.

For more on this story, please click here.

Source: insurancenews.net

Posted on: October 11, 2011