Hilary Knight Named As a Finalist for Women’s Sports Foundation’s 2016 Sportswoman of the Year Awards | stanton-company.com

Hilary Knight Named As a Finalist for Women’s Sports Foundation’s 2016 Sportswoman of the Year Awards

Originally posted by the Women’s Sports Foundation.

“Every year, at our Annual Salute to Women in Sports, we recognize an individual sport athlete and team sport athlete whose performances over a 12-month time span have been exceptional. Past winners include Venus and Serena Williams, Abby Wambach, Meryl Davis, Simone Biles, Yani Tseng and Candace Parker. Simply put: our Sportswoman of the Year Award is one of the most prestigious in the game.

The athletes on the 2016 ballot -have distinguished themselves from the field by their record-breaking, historic, and simply amazing athletic performances between August 1, 2015 and August 21, 2016.

The public and the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Awards Committee select the award winners by a 50-50 vote. The winners will be those two athletes who receive the highest combined share of a public vote (50% of composite) and the Awards Committee vote (50% of the composite).”

Sportswoman of the Year voting is now live, and the deadline is September 11, 2016. Vote for Hilary now: www.SportswomanoftheYear.com

Past Individual Sport Winners

Serena Williams 2015
Simone Biles 2014
Missy Franklin 2013
Gabby Douglas 2012
Yani Tseng 2011
Yuna Kim 2010
Courtney Kupets 2009
Nastia Liukin 2008
Lorena Ochoa 2007
Melanie Troxel 2006
Erin Popovich 2005
Annika Sorenstam 2004
Natalie Coughlin 2003
Sarah Hughes 2002
Stacy Dragila 2001
Jenny Thompson 2000
Juli Inkster 1999
Michelle Kwan 1998
Gail Devers 1997
Amy Van Dyken 1996
Bonnie Blair 1995
Bonnie Blair 1994
Julie Krone 1993


Past Team Sport Winners

Carli Lloyd 2015
Meryl Davis 2014
Candace Parker 2013
Alex Morgan 2012
Abby Wambach 2011
Katie O’Donnell 2010
Jessie Vetter 2009
Jessica Mendoza 2008
Monica Abbott 2007
Misty May-Treanor & Kerri Walsh 2006
Cat Osterman 2005
Misty May-Treanor & Kerri Walsh 2004
Lisa Leslie 2003
Sue Bird 2002
Lisa Leslie 2001
Serena & Venus Williams 2000
Mia Hamm 1999
Cynthia Cooper 1998
Mia Hamm 1997
Teresa Edwards 1996
Rebecca Lobo 1995
Lisa Fernandez 1994
Sheryl Swoopes 1993

Past Professional Winners

Pat Bradley 1992
Meg Mallon 1991
Paula Newby-Fraser 1990
Steffi Graf 1989
Susan Butcher 1988
Susan Butcher 1987
Lynette Woodard 1986
Libby Riddles 1985
Martina Navratilova 1984
Martina Navratilova 1983
Martina Navratilova 1982
Chris Evert 1981
Tracy Austin 1980


Past Amateur Winners

Jackie Joyner-Kersee 1992
Jean Driscoll 1991
Lori Norwood 1990
Janet Evans 1989
Jackie Joyner-Kersee 1988
Jackie Joyner-Kersee 1987
Debi Thomas 1986
Michele Mitchell 1985
Joan Benoit 1984
Mary Lou Retton 1984
Mary Decker 1983
Mary Decker 1982
Tracy Caulkins 1981
Mary Decker 1980


For the original post, visit the Women’s Sports Foundation.

Posted on: September 2, 2016